Story Thing

This is a story that I “attempted” to write. I found it buried in my desk. I’ve decided to write here, while I’m thinking about it.

Ping! Ping! Piiiiiiiiing! The early morning wake up call jostled me from my sleep. I rubbed my eyes to clear my vision and started the daily routine: straighten the sheets, throw on some clothes, and get to the command deck. The rest of the crew was waiting in line. ‘Leave it to me to be the last again.’, I thought. Our captain, Paul Wright, was making notes in his log as he checked that we were all here. He dismissed us, and everybody headed towards their stations. I took a turn to my right and hurried towards the generator room, where I worked as the ship’s electrician. It was another day aboard the USS Legacy.

It’s not a lot, but it’s a start. I’ll have to look over my original story and see what happens next.

Under the Milky Way
Photo Credit: Steve Jurvetson via Compfight

6 thoughts on “Story Thing

  1. Wow!!! That’s a really good story. I can’t believe that you wrote that. I kind of reminds me of Titanic, because I imagine it being a big ship like in the movie. I’ve never been on a ship (or a cruise), only a boat. But after watching Titanic and hearing about shipwrecks, I’m kind of afraid to go on a ship. I bet it’s a lot of work working as an electrician on a ship!

  2. Brian, I think it’s really effective the way you show us your character’s inner thoughts as he arrives on deck. We have a sense of his self-doubt, and we see the potential for further conflict because we understand there has been a previous issue with him looking bad in front of his commanding officer and the rest of the crew (tardiness, and perhaps other failings?).

    Conflict is the heart of a good story. I’d enjoy reading more!

  3. This is really good!! I also love the way you describe the characters thoughts, and have a great image in my head on what the scene looks like. Great job!!

  4. The story is very interesting, the “attempt” to write a story was very successful . Did you purposely relate the story to Star Trek? I’ll be looking forward to the next chapter!

    • I don’t know what I based in on. I think I wrote it a year or two ago. I don’t know the first thing about Star Trek, so it can’t be that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *